Image Upload

File size must be less than 500kb

File types (jpg, png, gif)


E-waste landfill ban

E-waste landfill ban

No e-waste to landfill from July 1 - what to do

With a ban on e-waste going to landfill beginning in July, local shires have designated e-waste drop-off points this month and are holding some information sessions.

E-waste is any item with a plug, battery or cord that is no longer working or wanted. It covers a whole range of items such as computers, mobile phones, microwaves, printers, televisions, heaters, small appliances and gaming consoles.

From July 1, these items can no longer be placed in any kerbside bins and instead must go to a designated e-waste drop-off point to recycle and keep them out of landfill.

See details below.

Article continues below


Community information sessions:
Tuesday, June 11:
• Orbost Customer Service Centre, 9am
• Cann River Community Centre, 11.30am
• Mallacoota Mud Brick Pavilion, 2pm
Wednesday, June 12:
• Metung Bowls Club, 4pm
• Lakes Entrance Mechanics Hall, 6pm
Thursday, June 13:
• Omeo Hall, 3pm
• Bruthen Hall, 5pm
Friday, June 14:
• Bairnsdale Library, 5pm
• Paynesville Customer Service Centre, 7pm

E-waste drop-off points are located at:
● Bairnsdale: 200 Johnstons Road, Forge Creek
● Orbost: 351 Bonang Road
● Bruthen: 109 Great Alpine Road
● Omeo: 18 Margetts Street
● Mallacoota: Betka Road
● Lakes Entrance: 5 Thorpes Lane


E-waste drop-off points are located at shire transfer stations at Kilmany, Maffra, Stratford, Yarram, Loch Sport, Heyfield, Seaspray and Dargo during normal operating hours. The E-waste will need to be separated from general waste.


E-waste is accepted at shire transfer stations at Morwell, Traralgon, Moe and Yinnar.


To learn more about e-waste in Victoria and find your nearest drop-off point go to

The Latest

Join Us