Image Upload

File size must be less than 500kb

File types (jpg, png, gif)

Cr Dan Clancey

New Latrobe Mayor

New Latrobe Mayor

Cr Dan Clancey

Dan Clancey to lead Latrobe City Council

Two councillors who joined Latrobe City Council in 2016 have been elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor for the final period of the current Council.

East ward councillor Dan Clancey attained the role over outgoing mayor Graham Middlemiss who was renominated. All councillors were present for last night's vote that went 5 to 4 in Cr Clancey's favour.

“It is a privilege to serve my community as a Councillor and I’m humbled to lead the Council for the next 12 months as Mayor,” Cr Clancey said last night.

“I wish to thank and acknowledge the tremendous work that Cr Middlemiss has done in his time as the Mayor. We have made significant progress on major Capital Works projects and a wide array of community events.”

“As well as over-seeing project delivery, Cr Middlemiss advocated strongly for our region through both State and National election campaigns, ensuring our community’s voice was heard on both state-wide and national platforms.”

Article continues below

Central Ward councillor Alan McFarlane was the only nomination for Deputy Mayor.

The pair will lead Latrobe City Council for the next 12 months.

Cr Clancey indicated that his focus for the term will be continued economic growth for our region and making Latrobe City the most liveable city in regional Victoria.

Earlier this week East Gippsland Shire Council elected Lindenow South grazier John White as Mayor, with Ben Buckley of Benambra his Deputy.

Wellington Shire councillors will elect their next Mayor this Wednesday.

Local Government elections are held every four years, with Gippsland ratepayers due to vote for the next group of representatives in each municipality on 24 October 2020.

The Latest

Join Us